
live chat tool · Olark
Olark
Website chat priced per agent, now sold alongside an AI agent that answers visitors.
In short
- Live Chat without AI costs $29 per agent a month, so 3 agents come to $87 a month1.
- There is no free plan. Olark offers a 14-day trial of Live Chat1.
- The AI Website Agent plan costs $400 a month, billed yearly, with one human agent seat and $29 for each extra agent1.
- Olark offers a data processing agreement on request, sent by email5.
- Agent groups, routing rules, shortcuts shared by the team and offline messages are all listed4,8,10.
Olark suits small teams that accept paying per agent and want routing rules, team shortcuts and a webhook feed1,4,8,10. Three agents cost $87 a month on the plain Live Chat plan1. The catch: there is no free plan, no official phone app (mobile use runs through third-party apps) and no SOC 2 or ISO 27001 on its GDPR or security pages1,5,6,7.
Best for: Small teams that want paid live chat priced per agent.
Where the points come from
Price 3 of 20 points
Chat handling 16 of 21 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Chat history kept | Not publishedNot published on the vendor's pricing or features pages1,4. | 0 / 5 |
| Shared saved replies | YesAdministrators create Team Shortcuts that all agents on the account share8. | 4 / 4 |
| Routing rules | YesThe features page lists agent groups, routing rules and chat limits per agent4. | 8 / 8 |
| Offline message form | YesThe features page says the widget captures messages when the team is away; the webhook guide covers offline messages4,10. | 4 / 4 |
Visitors 8 of 13 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Visitor location shown | YesThe features page says agents see location; the API docs list approximate city and country for a visitor4,11. | 3 / 3 |
| Live visitor list | Not publishedA help article mentions a console visitor list but does not say it updates in real time9. | 0 / 5 |
| Proactive chat invitations | YesThe features page says chats start when your rules are met; the help article gives rules on page URL and seconds on page4,12. | 5 / 5 |
Apps and channels 0 of 14 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Agent apps | NoneHelp lists third-party apps (Trillian, Xabber, Monal), not official ones, and says Olark's own mobile beta is deprecated7. | 0 / 6 |
| Other channels in the inbox | NoneThe integrations page lists no email, WhatsApp, Messenger or Instagram inbox channel3. WhatsApp/SMS appear on the features page without inbox detail4. | 0 / 8 |
Data and trust 4 of 14 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| SOC 2 Type II or ISO 27001 | Not publishedNot published on the vendor's GDPR or security pages5,6. | 0 / 6 |
| Data processing agreement | YesOlark's GDPR page says to email for its standard DPA to be signed5. | 4 / 4 |
| Two-factor sign-in for agents | Not publishedNot published on the vendor's pages4,6. | 0 / 4 |
Connections 13 of 18 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Named integrations | Shopify, WordPress, WooCommerce, ZapierListed on the integrations page. Slack is marked beta, so it does not count; Wix is not listed3. | 4 / 6 |
| Public API or webhooks | YesA webhook guide documents HTTP POSTs of chat transcripts and optional events10. | 4 / 4 |
| Remove vendor branding | Not publishedNot published on the vendor's pages1,4. | 0 / 3 |
| AI agent for chat | YesThe Standard AI Website Agent plan is sold at $400 a month and answers visitors from your site1,2. | 5 / 5 |
The rule behind each line: how we score live chat tools.
Plans and prices
As the vendor lists them, before tax. Prices are in US dollars unless the plan shows euros; the points use US dollars, with euros converted at the ECB rate.
| Plan | Price as listed | Per month | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Live ChatPer agent | $29/agent/month1 | $29 | Live chat without AI; 14-day trial; billing term not stated |
| Standard AI Website Agent1 agent seat included | $400/month1 | $400 | $4,800 a year; extra agents $29 a month each |
The page shows one price for Live Chat and does not state a billing term. Three agents at $29 each cost $87 a month1.
Strengths
- Agent groups, routing rules and per-agent chat limits are listed among the features4.
- Administrators can create team shortcuts that all agents share8.
- A webhook sends each finished chat transcript, and messages left offline, to your own endpoint10.
- The integrations page lists Shopify, WordPress, WooCommerce and Zapier3.
- A standard data processing agreement is available on request5.
Limits
- No free plan: only a 14-day trial of Live Chat1.
- Olark lists third-party apps for phones, not its own, and says its mobile beta is deprecated7.
- The Slack integration is marked beta on the integrations page3.
- Custom changes to the data processing agreement need the Pro plan5.
- The pricing page does not state how long chat history is kept1.
What Olark says
Vendor claims. We show them, but they earn no points.
- Olark says it is trusted by 12,000+ businesses since 20092.
Other live chat tools
- 1
TidioSmall shops that want a free start and many agent seats88/100$24.17/mocost for 3 agents - 2
Zoho SalesIQSmall teams that want to see who is on the site and chat with them85/100$21/mocost for 3 agents - 3
LiveChatSmall support teams that want routing and agent apps and can pay per seat80/100$57/mocost for 3 agents - 4
CrispSmall teams that want flat workspace pricing and a shared inbox78/100$45/mocost for 3 agents
Sources
- Olark pricing, Olark. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Olark home page, Olark. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Olark integrations, Olark. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Olark features, Olark. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Olark GDPR, Olark. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Olark vulnerability disclosure policy, Olark. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Olark mobile chat, Olark. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Send messages faster with shortcuts, Olark. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Why is my visitor list empty?, Olark. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Webhooks integration guide, Olark. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Olark API: visitor details, Olark. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
- Olark proactive messages, Olark. Accessed 9 Oct 2026.
Website: www.olark.com · Markdown version · We are not affiliated with Olark.