
time tracking tool · Kimai
Kimai
Open-source web time tracker you can host yourself, or use as a hosted cloud service from 2.99 euros per user a month.
In short
- Kimai Cloud Standard costs 2.99 euros per user a month billed yearly, or 3.99 euros billed monthly1.
- Professional costs 3.99 euros per user a month billed yearly and adds SAML single sign-on1,3.
- The source code is public under the AGPL-3.0 licence, so you can host it yourself4.
- Time reports export as PDF, XLSX, CSV or HTML5.
- There is no free cloud plan, only a 30-day trial1.
Kimai suits teams that want open-source code, a REST API and low per-user prices for hosted use1,2,4. Rates, invoices, four export formats and optional two-factor sign-in are listed2,4,5. The catch: the vendor lists no official native mobile or desktop apps, and approvals, budget alerts and Jira sync come from marketplace plugins whose cloud availability is not stated8,13,10,11.
Best for: Teams that want open-source code and a REST API.
Where the points come from
Systems 2 of 18 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Apps | Web appKimai is a web app; docs describe a browser shortcut. The integrations page lists apps from named developers, none marked official8,13. | 2 / 12 |
| Browser extension | Not publishedNot published on the vendor's marketplace listing or cloud page6,1. | 0 / 3 |
| Tracks time offline | Not publishedNot published on the vendor's home screen documentation page8. | 0 / 3 |
Tracking 0 of 12 points
Billing 14 of 23 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Timesheet approval | Not publishedA free approval plugin exists in the store, but its page does not state cloud availability11. | 0 / 6 |
| Invoices from tracked time | YesBoth cloud plans include invoicing; home page lists PDF and DOCX invoices3,2. | 8 / 8 |
| Billable rates | YesREADME lists user, customer and project-specific rates; the manual has a rates chapter4,9. | 6 / 6 |
| Project budgets and alerts | Not publishedREADME lists money and time budgets; alerts come from a store plugin with no cloud note4,10. | 0 / 3 |
Reports and links 6 of 14 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Report export formats | CSV, Excel, PDFExport screen supports PDF, XLSX, CSV and HTML5. | 3 / 3 |
| Scheduled reports by email | Not publishedNot published on the vendor's manual index; the store has only a customer email report plugin9,6. | 0 / 2 |
| Public API | YesCloud page says to use the JSON REST API to query and create data; README lists a JSON API1,4. | 3 / 3 |
| Named integrations | Not publishedStore lists a Jira sync plugin but states no cloud availability; no integrations page was found12,6. | 0 / 6 |
Security 6 of 11 points
Price 12 of 22 points
| Rule | What is published | Points |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | NoCloud offers only a 30-day trial; self-hosting is free software you run yourself, not a plan1,2. | 0 / 7 |
| Users on the free plan | Not publishedNo free cloud plan is offered1. | 0 / 3 |
| Cheapest paid plan | $3.34/moCloud Standard, 2.99 euros per user a month billed annually1. Converted at €1 = $1.118614. | 12 / 12 |
The rule behind each line: how we score time tracking tools.
Plans and prices
As the vendor lists them, before tax. Prices are in US dollars unless the plan shows euros; the points use US dollars, with euros converted at the ECB rate.
| Plan | Price as listed | Per month | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Self-hostedYou run the server | Free2,4 | $0 | Open-source software, community support, plugins sold separately |
| Cloud StandardPer user | €2.99/user/month billed yearly (€3.99 billed monthly)1 | – | Time tracking, invoicing, data export, audit logs |
| Cloud ProfessionalPer user | €3.99/user/month billed yearly (€4.99 billed monthly)1,3 | – | Adds working hours account, expenses, customer portal, SAML SSO |
Cloud prices are shown in euros, exclude tax, and the cloud site offers a 30-day free trial1.
Strengths
Limits
- No free cloud plan; the offer is a 30-day trial1.
- The vendor lists no official native apps; its docs describe a browser shortcut for mobile and desktop1,8,13.
- Timesheet approval and budget alerts are marketplace plugins; their cloud availability is not stated10,11.
- The vendor's pages name no SOC 2 or ISO 27001 certification1,7.
Other time tracking tools
- 1
TimeCampFreelancers and small teams that want a free plan and low per-user prices100/100$3.99/mocheapest paid plan - 2
ClockifySmall teams that want a free plan and a low paid price96/100$3.99/mocheapest paid plan - 3
HubstaffSmall teams that want tracked hours turned into invoices and payroll89/100$4.99/mocheapest paid plan - 4TMetricSmall teams that want invoicing, budgets and apps on every system for a low price85/100$5.83/mocheapest paid plan
Sources
- Kimai Cloud, Kimai. Accessed 8 Oct 2026.
- Kimai home page, Kimai. Accessed 8 Oct 2026.
- Kimai pricing, Kimai. Accessed 8 Oct 2026.
- kimai/kimai, GitHub. Accessed 8 Oct 2026.
- Export, Kimai documentation. Accessed 8 Oct 2026.
- Kimai plugin store, Kimai. Accessed 8 Oct 2026.
- Online time tracking, Kimai. Accessed 8 Oct 2026.
- Use Kimai as app, Kimai documentation. Accessed 8 Oct 2026.
- Kimai user manual, Kimai documentation. Accessed 8 Oct 2026.
- Budget Watcher plugin, Kimai. Accessed 8 Oct 2026.
- Approval workflow for timesheets, Kimai. Accessed 8 Oct 2026.
- Jira worklog sync plugin, Kimai. Accessed 8 Oct 2026.
- Apps and integrations, Kimai. Accessed 8 Oct 2026.
- Euro foreign exchange reference rates: US dollar, European Central Bank. Accessed 8 Oct 2026.
Website: www.kimai.org · Markdown version · We are not affiliated with Kimai.