---
title: Kimai
canonical: https://saasranked.com/software/kimai/
category: Time Tracking Software
points: 40
rank: 12 of 12
facts_checked: 2026-10-08
---

# Kimai

Open-source web time tracker you can host yourself, or use as a hosted cloud service from 2.99 euros per user a month.

40 points out of 100. #12 of 12 time tracking tools. Vendor: Kimai. Website: https://www.kimai.org/

- Kimai Cloud Standard costs 2.99 euros per user a month billed yearly, or 3.99 euros billed monthly [1].
- Professional costs 3.99 euros per user a month billed yearly and adds SAML single sign-on [1][3].
- The source code is public under the AGPL-3.0 licence, so you can host it yourself [4].
- Time reports export as PDF, XLSX, CSV or HTML [5].
- There is no free cloud plan, only a 30-day trial [1].

Verdict: Kimai suits teams that want open-source code, a REST API and low per-user prices for hosted use [1][2][4]. Rates, invoices, four export formats and optional two-factor sign-in are listed [2][4][5]. The catch: the vendor lists no official native mobile or desktop apps, and approvals, budget alerts and Jira sync come from marketplace plugins whose cloud availability is not stated [8][13][10][11]. Best for: Teams that want open-source code and a REST API.

## Points

| Criterion | Line | Value | Points | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Systems | Apps | Web app | 2/12 | Kimai is a web app; docs describe a browser shortcut. The integrations page lists apps from named developers, none marked official [8][13]. |
| Systems | Browser extension | Not published | 0/3 | Not published on the vendor's marketplace listing or cloud page [6][1]. |
| Systems | Tracks time offline | Not published | 0/3 | Not published on the vendor's home screen documentation page [8]. |
| Tracking | Idle detection | Not published | 0/7 | Not published on the vendor's marketplace listing [6]. |
| Tracking | Automatic activity log | Not published | 0/5 | Not published on the vendor's home page or marketplace listing [2][6]. |
| Billing | Timesheet approval | Not published | 0/6 | A free approval plugin exists in the store, but its page does not state cloud availability [11]. |
| Billing | Invoices from tracked time | Yes | 8/8 | Both cloud plans include invoicing; home page lists PDF and DOCX invoices [3][2]. |
| Billing | Billable rates | Yes | 6/6 | README lists user, customer and project-specific rates; the manual has a rates chapter [4][9]. |
| Billing | Project budgets and alerts | Not published | 0/3 | README lists money and time budgets; alerts come from a store plugin with no cloud note [4][10]. |
| Reports and links | Report export formats | CSV, Excel, PDF | 3/3 | Export screen supports PDF, XLSX, CSV and HTML [5]. |
| Reports and links | Scheduled reports by email | Not published | 0/2 | Not published on the vendor's manual index; the store has only a customer email report plugin [9][6]. |
| Reports and links | Public API | Yes | 3/3 | Cloud page says to use the JSON REST API to query and create data; README lists a JSON API [1][4]. |
| Reports and links | Named integrations | Not published | 0/6 | Store lists a Jira sync plugin but states no cloud availability; no integrations page was found [12][6]. |
| Security | Single sign-on (SAML) | Yes | 3/3 | Professional includes single sign-on with SAML [3]. |
| Security | SOC 2 Type II or ISO 27001 | Not published | 0/5 | Not published on the vendor's cloud page [1]. |
| Security | Two-factor sign-in | Yes | 3/3 | Home page and README list optional two-factor authentication with TOTP [2][4]. |
| Price | Free plan | No | 0/7 | Cloud offers only a 30-day trial; self-hosting is free software you run yourself, not a plan [1][2]. |
| Price | Users on the free plan | Not published | 0/3 | No free cloud plan is offered [1]. |
| Price | Cheapest paid plan | $3.34/mo | 12/12 | Cloud Standard, 2.99 euros per user a month billed annually [1]. Converted at €1 = $1.1186 [14]. |

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Per month (USD) |
|---|---|---|
| Self-hosted | Free [2][4] | $0 |
| Cloud Standard | €2.99/user/month billed yearly (€3.99 billed monthly) [1] | - |
| Cloud Professional | €3.99/user/month billed yearly (€4.99 billed monthly) [1][3] | - |

Cloud prices are shown in euros, exclude tax, and the cloud site offers a 30-day free trial [1].

## Strengths

- Source code is public under AGPL-3.0 [4].
- Cloud Standard is 2.99 euros per user a month billed yearly [1].
- Exports to PDF, XLSX, CSV and HTML [5].
- Offers a JSON REST API, optional TOTP two-factor sign-in and SAML SSO on Professional [1][2][3][4].
- Invoicing is included in both cloud plans [3].

## Limits

- No free cloud plan; the offer is a 30-day trial [1].
- The vendor lists no official native apps; its docs describe a browser shortcut for mobile and desktop [1][8][13].
- Timesheet approval and budget alerts are marketplace plugins; their cloud availability is not stated [10][11].
- The vendor's pages name no SOC 2 or ISO 27001 certification [1][7].

## Sources

1. [Kimai Cloud](https://www.kimai.cloud/), Kimai, accessed 2026-10-08
2. [Kimai home page](https://www.kimai.org/), Kimai, accessed 2026-10-08
3. [Kimai pricing](https://www.kimai.org/en/pricing), Kimai, accessed 2026-10-08
4. [kimai/kimai](https://github.com/kimai/kimai), GitHub, accessed 2026-10-08
5. [Export](https://www.kimai.org/documentation/export.html), Kimai documentation, accessed 2026-10-08
6. [Kimai plugin store](https://www.kimai.org/store/), Kimai, accessed 2026-10-08
7. [Online time tracking](https://www.kimai.org/en/online-time-tracking), Kimai, accessed 2026-10-08
8. [Use Kimai as app](https://www.kimai.org/documentation/homescreen.html), Kimai documentation, accessed 2026-10-08
9. [Kimai user manual](https://www.kimai.org/documentation/chapter-manual.html), Kimai documentation, accessed 2026-10-08
10. [Budget Watcher plugin](https://www.kimai.org/en/store/helsinkisystems-budgetwatcher.html), Kimai, accessed 2026-10-08
11. [Approval workflow for timesheets](https://www.kimai.org/en/store/katjaglass-approval-bundle.html), Kimai, accessed 2026-10-08
12. [Jira worklog sync plugin](https://www.kimai.org/en/store/jira-sync.html), Kimai, accessed 2026-10-08
13. [Apps and integrations](https://www.kimai.org/en/integrations), Kimai, accessed 2026-10-08
14. [Euro foreign exchange reference rates: US dollar](https://www.ecb.europa.eu/stats/policy_and_exchange_rates/euro_reference_exchange_rates/html/eurofxref-graph-usd.en.html), European Central Bank, accessed 2026-10-08
