---
title: Requestly
canonical: https://saasranked.com/software/requestly/
category: API Clients
points: 68
rank: 7 of 11
facts_checked: 2026-10-08
---

# Requestly

Desktop API client with scripts, tests, mock servers, Git-backed local projects and a SOC 2 Type 2 certification.

68 points out of 100. #7 of 11 API clients. Vendor: BrowserStack, Inc.. Website: https://requestly.com/

- Team costs $10 per user a month, billed annually, from 5 seats; Team Pro costs $15 [1].
- The pricing page lists a 30-day free trial and no permanent free plan [1].
- Local projects keep collections as plain files on disk that you can commit, push and pull with Git; the Team plan lists them [1][14].
- Requestly says it completed SOC 2 Type 2 certification, announced on September 26, 2024 [16].
- Offers a CLI, collection runner, mock servers and published API docs [5][7][12].

Verdict: Requestly, a BrowserStack product [6], suits teams that want scripts, tests, mock servers, published docs and Git storage in one desktop client, and a SOC 2 Type 2 certification it announced in 2024 [5][12][16]. The catch: the app is proprietary, the pricing page lists no free plan, and the cheapest plan is $10 per user a month from five seats [1][4]. Best for: Teams that want Git-based collections, mock servers and published docs in one client.

## Points

| Criterion | Line | Value | Points | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Systems | Other systems | macOS, Linux, Web app | 6/6 | Desktop downloads for macOS and Linux [3]. The WebSocket docs describe a web app where requests can be created and saved [10]. |
| Systems | Command-line runner | Yes | 4/4 | The CLI runs collections from a terminal or CI pipeline [7]. No beta label shown. |
| Requests and protocols | Built-in protocols | GraphQL, gRPC, WebSocket | 9/12 | Docs have request pages for each; GraphQL is on the home page; gRPC is "rolling out gradually", no beta label [5][11][10][2]. No SSE. |
| Requests and protocols | Imports OpenAPI | Yes | 4/4 | Docs list an import page for OpenAPI specs; the README names OpenAPI import [5][4]. |
| Requests and protocols | Scripts and tests | Yes | 8/8 | Pre-request and post-response scripts, with rq.test and rq.expect assertions [8][9]. Plan limits not stated. |
| Requests and protocols | Collection runner | Yes | 3/3 | Docs list a Collection Runner with data-file and scheduled runs [5]. Plan limits not stated. |
| Requests and protocols | Mock servers | Yes | 3/3 | Docs list mock servers created from a collection or an OpenAPI file [5]. |
| Requests and protocols | Publishes API docs | Yes | 3/3 | A collection linked to an OpenAPI spec can be published as a documentation site [12]. |
| Your data | Works without an account | Not published | 0/8 | Not published on the vendor's pages [13][17]. Getting started tells you to sign in; local projects are stored on your device. |
| Your data | Collections as plain files | Yes | 8/8 | Local projects keep collections as plain files on disk, usable with Git in the desktop app [14]. Team plan lists Local Projects [1]. File format not named. |
| Your data | Open-source apps | No | 0/6 | GitHub says the Requestly API Client application is proprietary [4]. |
| Teams and trust | Shared team workspaces | Yes | 7/7 | Team lists Team Projects with real-time collaboration on shared elements [1]. |
| Teams and trust | SAML or OIDC single sign-on | Yes | 4/4 | SAML SSO with Okta is documented [15]; the pricing page lists SSO only in the Enterprise add-on [1]. |
| Teams and trust | SOC 2 Type II or ISO 27001 | Yes | 5/5 | Requestly says it completed SOC 2 Type 2 certification; the post is dated September 26, 2024 [16]. |
| Price | Free plan | Not published | 0/10 | Not published on the vendor's pricing page, which lists Team, Team Pro, Enterprise and a 30-day trial [1]. |
| Price | Cheapest paid plan | $10/mo | 4/9 | Team, $10 per user a month billed annually; Team Pro is $15 [1]. |

## Plans

| Plan | Price | Per month (USD) |
|---|---|---|
| Team | $10/user/month, billed annually [1] | $10 |
| Team Pro | $15/user/month, billed annually [1] | $15 |
| Enterprise | Contact sales [1] | - |

Team is priced as one seat of a 5-seat minimum. The page shows no monthly-billing USD price [1].

## Strengths

- Pre-request and post-response scripts, with Chai-based assertions, are documented [8][9].
- Mock servers can be built from a collection or an OpenAPI file [5].
- Collections linked to an OpenAPI spec can be published as a docs site [12].
- Requestly says it completed SOC 2 Type 2 certification [16].
- SAML single sign-on is documented for Okta and Microsoft Entra ID [5][15].

## Limits

- The API Client app is proprietary and not covered by the AGPLv3 licence of the community repository [4].
- The pricing page shows no free plan, only a 30-day trial [1].
- SSO and SCIM come only with the Enterprise add-on [1][15].
- The docs name no Server-Sent Events request type, and gRPC is described as rolling out gradually [5][11].
- The seat selector on the pricing page starts at 5 users [1].

## Sources

1. [Requestly pricing](https://requestly.com/pricing/), Requestly, accessed 2026-10-08
2. [Requestly home page](https://requestly.com/), Requestly, accessed 2026-10-08
3. [Download Requestly](https://requestly.com/downloads/), Requestly, accessed 2026-10-08
4. [requestly/requestly](https://github.com/requestly/requestly), GitHub, accessed 2026-10-08
5. [Requestly documentation index](https://docs.requestly.com/llms.txt), Requestly, accessed 2026-10-08
6. [About Requestly](https://requestly.com/about/), Requestly, accessed 2026-10-08
7. [CLI](https://docs.requestly.com/api-client/cli.md), Requestly, accessed 2026-10-08
8. [Pre-request & Post-response Scripts](https://docs.requestly.com/api-client/scripts.md), Requestly, accessed 2026-10-08
9. [Writing Tests](https://docs.requestly.com/api-client/tests.md), Requestly, accessed 2026-10-08
10. [WebSocket Request](https://docs.requestly.com/api-client/send-api-request/websocket-request.md), Requestly, accessed 2026-10-08
11. [gRPC Request](https://docs.requestly.com/api-client/send-api-request/grpc-request.md), Requestly, accessed 2026-10-08
12. [Publish API Documentation](https://docs.requestly.com/api-client/api-design/publish-api-docs.md), Requestly, accessed 2026-10-08
13. [Local project](https://docs.requestly.com/collaboration/local-workspace.md), Requestly, accessed 2026-10-08
14. [Git overview](https://docs.requestly.com/api-client/git/overview.md), Requestly, accessed 2026-10-08
15. [SAML SSO with Okta](https://docs.requestly.com/account/sso/setup-sso-with-okta.md), Requestly, accessed 2026-10-08
16. [Announcing Requestly SOC 2 Type II compliance certification](https://requestly.com/blog/announcing-requestly-soc-2-type-ii-compliance-certification/), Requestly, accessed 2026-10-08
17. [Requestly API Client getting started](https://docs.requestly.com/), Requestly, accessed 2026-10-08
